After a break up?

Mr.Dawn

After a break up. How long does it take you to get over someone?

I haven't been with my ex wife since 2019. I have a girlfriend now, but any woman I've ever been with, I've thought about her. I married her back in 2008, we had kids, and that's 11 years I'm having trouble working out of my mind. The problem is, nothing I do makes it go away. Some days it bothers me more than others. 

Edited by Jupiter

• Mr.Dawn changed the title to After a break up?

I'm no expert on break-ups, but I do know a few things about internal conflict.  The way I see it, you are having trouble with acceptance.  11 years is a long time and it takes tremendous effort to have maintained a relationship that long, especially ones like yours.  And it will take much more effort to move on from that.  Did you regret your actions?  It's natural to think of the past because there was something that had an emotional impact on you, be it good or bad. 

But then again, what is troubling you?  Do you have thoughts that something similar may happen in your future. 

11 hours ago, durendal said:

Did you regret your actions?  

Most definitely. I was 22 and I was immature when I got with her. I was very impulsive, possessive, selfish, I had unresolved anger issues having to do with my childhood, and on top of all of that I was controlling with her.

I've been pretty oblivious with my feelings for a long time and I've been blind sighted by them many times. Looking back after the divorce.